Vandana Shourie: contemporary Indian art

2015 Inward Journey 15.2 36x482015 Inward Journey 15.1 36x482014 Inward Journey 14.7 Fractals 36x482014 Inward Journey 14.6 Fractals 36x482014 Inward Journey 14.5 Fractals 36x482014 Inward Journey 14.4 18x242013 Inward Journey 13.2 Fractals 36x482013 Inward Journey 13.1 Fractals 36x482011 Inward Journey 522015 Raga Series 15.4 Alaap 24x242015 Raga Series 15.3 Vilambit 24x242011 Inward Journey 512011 Inward Journey 502010 Inward Journey 81 Squares 36x482010 Inward Journey Bodhi Tree 14x14Inward Journey 22Inward Journey 21Inward Journey 20Inward Journey 19Inward Journey 18 - TriptychInward Journey 16 - DiptychAlaapInward Journey 14Inward Journey 12Brahma SthalThe Banyan TreeInward Journey 11Inward Journey 10Ahir Bhairav - TriptychInward Journey 72008 Inward Journey 39 Muscat2008 Inward Journey 38 Muscat2007 Inward Journey 37 Delhi2007 Inward Journey 362007 Inward Journey 352006 Inward Journey NY and Houston2006 Inward Journey Mother and Child Series NY2006 Inward Journey Mother and Child Series 72006 Inward Journey Mother and Child Series 12006 Inward Journey Citibank Solo Navratris2006 Inward Journey Citibank Solo 1 Delhi2006 Inward Journey Citibank Solo 2 Delhi2006 Inward Journey Citibank Solo 32006 Inward Journey2005 Inward Journey2004 Inward Journey2002 Inward Journey Chawla Art Gallery2000 Inward Journey Life is a Game 22000 Inward Journey Life is a game 32000 Inward Journey Hyatt Regency Delhi1998 Inward Journey Hope Aspirations Mumbai
Inward Journey 12
48" x 48"
Acrylics on Canvas
Nav Rathris

'Nav Ratri'- the literal word means-'nine nights'
Nine days and nights in honour of the nine manifestations of Goddess Durga.
The festival of Nav ratri is observed twice a year-once in the month of Chaitra and then in Aswayuja.
It lasts for nine days.
It is to vividly remind us of the higher power that maintains a constant watch over every act of ours on this earth-plane.The memory serves as a invisible check on one's conduct-a powerful inducement to keep oneself engaged in constantly doing good actions only.

- Eradicatin of Vices
The division of nine nights into sets of three days -epitomises the stages of evolution of man to God, from Jiva-hood to Shiva-hood. In its individual import it shows the course his spiritual Sadhana should take.
This process of Sadhana (first 3 days) where the Mother is adored as Power force is to be prayed to destroy all impurities, vices, defects to fight with and annihilate the basic animal qualities in the Sadhaka.--to set the mind apart for the worship of the Divine.

- Cultivation of Virtues
The accumalation of Divine Qualities (4th -6th day) Daivi Sampat is acquired through orderly, steady, calm and serene effort to develope purity --
Thus the worship of Goddess Lakshmi is performed during the second set of three days.

- Dawn Of Wisdom
Once the aspirant suceeds in routing out the evil prospensities and in developing Sattvic , pure, divine qualities, he becomes an Adhikari.---- to receive the Light of Supreme Wisdom.
At this stage Divine Knowedge comes with the devout worship of Sri Saraswati --the embodiment of Brahma Jnana--whose celestial Vina awakens the notes of the sublime Mahavakyas and the Pranava.
This is the third stage-- (6th - 9th days)

The whole journey from the Amavasya Night to the Full moon-
From Darkness to Light.--

'Asato ma Sat gamaya- Tamaso ma Jyotir gamaya-- Mrityo ma Amritam gamaya ' Om Shanti Shanti Shanti